Skip to content Skip to navigation

Maryland NanoCenter

Maryland NanoCenter

Maryland NanoCenter has been established as a partnership between two University of Maryland colleges: The A. James Clark School of Engineering and The College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences (CMNS, formerly The College of Computer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences and The College of Chemical and Life Sciences) with sustaining support from the campus.

Led by founding director Gary W. Rubloff, Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Chair Patrick O'Shea, and Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics (IREAP) Director Daniel Lathrop, Maryland NanoCenter promotes major nano research and education initiatives, provides one-stop shopping for those seeking expertise and/or partnerships at Maryland, and supplies infrastructure to facilitate nano activities at Maryland through equipment, staff support, and informational and administrative functions.

The mission of Maryland NanoCenter is to enhance the coherence and effectiveness of the University of Maryland nano community through a strategy based on:

- coordinating shared state-of-art experimental facilities;
- developing best practices for administrative infrastructure supports;
- providing coherent, broad visibility at state, national, and international levels;
- encouraging and facilitating nano program growth and fund-raising;
- guiding the evolution of coordinated educational programs for the nano workforce of the future; and
- promoting the development and transfer of nanotechnology and related intellectual property to the marketplace.

Maryland NanoCenter
University of Maryland
1119 Kim Engineering Bldg.
College Park, MD
view on map

Alice Mobaidin
(301) 405-6047